7 Ways to Become the Hero of Your Own Life Story

Nela Canovic
7 min readSep 19, 2022
Photo by Road Trip with Raj on Unsplash

Be honest. Are you a casual observer of events happening around you, or an active participant who chooses next steps with purpose?

There’s nothing wrong with being a casual observer of things. I like to stay on top of daily news from around the world, I tune into my favorite Netflix shows in the evening, and I try to be a good listener as friends share the latest plot twist from work or their personal lives. The only problem is that in these instances I don’t get a say in what happens; I am there merely to observe, listen, and think about the new information that is being presented to me.

Things get much more exciting and interesting when I am in a position to be an active participant in something. When I’m writing, I get to choose the theme and sentence structure; I brainstorm and select words I think will best fit the story. In conversations at work or in my circle of friends, I will share my opinion, ask questions, seek or give advice if it’s needed. If there’s a group decision to be made, I will point out the advantages of an option I feel will work best for everyone involved. And if it’s one of those situations where I am setting a personal goal, then I am the one who creates a plan of action to reach by a certain date.

Being an active participant has many advantages, but the biggest one is this — it puts…

--

--

Nela Canovic

Growth mindset hacker, writer, Silicon Valley entrepreneur.